The Best & the Worst of SecondLife…

Windlight

1. Windlight

I was thinking last night before I went to bed pissy with the sound of cloppity clinkity prim boots this girl was annoying me with, that my Rez Day is coming up. Woah! The big 5 years of SLife. What better way to reflect on my SLifetime than poll plurk for the Best & Worst SL additions over the years.

We all know that even though we rarely give credit to the Lindens, that LL does improve upon itself with the help of it’s most talented residents. We’ve seen numerous improvements over the years & even if you’re still a nooblet, thank a Linden or a content creator for being born into such a wonderfully advanced world as opposed to what it was 5 years ago.

Let’s start with the Best First in no particular date order of introduction.

1. Windlight (pictured above) –  In May of 2007  LL released the Second Life WindLight First Look viewer containing brand-new atmospheric rendering with killer skies and kickass environments. The world became a prettier place for everyone with a fairly decent graphics card. No longer did we feel we lived in a flat world with flat colors, we now had personally controlled atmosphere to play with. Pictures became art & romantic dates became even more dreamy.

2. Voice

2. Voice

2. Voice – Also in March of 2007, the new voice feature inside Second Life was ready for open beta testing! It was rough in the beginning, especially for me (Anyone remmy my “No Bean Left Behind” campaign? Prob not, that’s ok). We all learned the affect voice has had on our perception of others and had our share of annoying experiences & growing pains but after 2 years, could you imagine SLife without it?

3. Flexi Prims

3. Flexi Prims

3. Flexi Prims – In May of 2006, we saw the introduction of flexi prims. Again there were some growing pains, but it wasn’t too long before SL’s top designers were manipulating them into submission & creating some of the best fashion & builds that SL had ever seen. Our skirts started to flow, as did our hair and jewelry began to really dangle.

4. Sculpted Prims

4. Sculpted Prims

4. Sculpties – 2007 saw a lot of additions, as well as the Sculpted Prim… created externally using a 3D modeling tool such as Blender, Maya, or Wings 3D, and then uploaded to Second Life, where they are applied to a prim with the build tools. With the new prims, we saw awesome builds from prefabs using less primmage, art sculptures that take your breath away, and of course the all mighty sculptie shoes & hair. However did we manage to look even remotely presentable without them?

5. Havok™4

5. Havok™4

5. Havok™4 (Second Life Simulator v1.20.0.83683) – In March of 2008 the new simulator known as Havok was being dubbed as the “more Stable Second Life Simulator (Tastes Great, Less Crashing)”. The release was the result of the Havok™4 project, a project that updated the physics engine used to determine all movement of objects in Second Life. I’m not exactly sure how awesome it was/is but the more technical of people seem to like it.

As always people will find something they hate even with the many things that they love. LL will always be to blame because after all how dare they create this virtual world for you to play in & not keep complete stability and no lag while you are there gracing it with your pixels, right?

I now present you with some of the Worst of SL additions, not all completely LL’s fault:

1. Clickity Shoes

1. Clickity Shoes

1. Clickity Shoes – This has got to be the most annoying, IMHO, addition to SL ever. Sadly the clickity cloppity prim shoe was introduced around the same time as voice. Talk about being forced to let your ears bleed as well as grinding your teeth down to bits as you hear these babies walk by you in a store while voicing it up with your best friend. Like I said yesterday… Nothing in SL has ever caused me to cringe in RL like the sound of these freaking annoying ass shoes!

2. Talking Tummies

2. Talking Tummies

2. Talking Tummies – I know a lot has been said on this subject from those who have/had/ are in favor of the whole SL pregnancy gig to those like me that hate hearing them. To quote one of my posts from MGG2SL on the subject… “So like I was at Tringo yesterday & I hear a tummy talk. No problem, I muted it. Bleh, but then the “vitamin” she took spoke. So I muted that too. How much shit must I mute?! My mute list is full of talking tummies, babies, etc.” That was back in April of 2007 and the shit has just gotten more & more advanced over the last two years.

3. Bling

3. Bling

3. Bling – Bling has been around for as long as I have. You know those fashion trends that you really wish would die a quick death? This is definitely one of them on my top 3 list right above babydoll shirts. Jewelry and attachments scripted, particle based shimmering “bling” effects that are suppose to do what? Make you look rich? Give you some type of virtual status? I’m not sure but just as quickly as nooblets could snatch up the “shiny shiny”, we came up with the term “Blingtards”.

4. Free Accounts

4. Free Accounts

4. Free Accounts – In September of 2005 LL opened up a can of worms with “FREE Membership Accounts.” LL said, “because free membership will likely prompt a significant number of people to join Second Life, revenue from virtual land the new members buy will probably make up for the loss of subscription fees.” Four years later & we see more cobybots, more kids, alts and more camping bots. Good call there LL.

5. Zindra

5. Zindra

5. Adult Continent  Zindra – As it became clear that some Residents are interested in pursuing certain “Adult” activities in Second Life that others would rather not casually encounter, the brainchild of LL… Zindra came to be. The SecondLife Adult Continent. My issue with this is that at the same time rumors of  LL to keep the Teen Grid running or close it down are circling as well as complaints of Teen Grid regions showing up on the main grid sporadically reported to the Jira. There has to be a better way to police the logins for adults & those who want adult content on their land or around their common haunts shouldn’t feel herded to Zindra.

What are your thoughts? Do you agree or disagree? Do you have a Top 5 Best & Worst of SL? If yours differ, how did you make up your lists?

13 Responses to “The Best & the Worst of SecondLife…”

  1. I like the list. I have to admit that the “clickety-clack” of the shoes reminds me of military dress shoe taps, so the nostalgia it invokes doesn’t bother me as much as it does others.

    Keeping adult content separated is a necessary evil if you want to have businesses be involved in SL. I agree that Zindra is not necessarily an ideal solution, but I don’t think it qualifies as a “worst” in my book.

    I’ll think some more about my own Best & Worst list in the next day or so and maybe post some more thoughts…

  2. Oscar Page Says:

    Free accounts was probably the dumbest thing LL ever did. I mean reduce your price from $10 for a basic account (what I paid in ’04) to $5, but free accounts was idiotic. Imagine what they could’ve made from the CSI and Gossipgirl crowds if they made them pay a fee for a bulk amount of accounts that they could give out for free.

  3. Whispers Magic Says:

    I pretty much agree with these…except maybe havok. lol I was rp mafia at the time they rolled this out and man did they mess up my guns! lol I will be 5 the first of dec. and I agree it sure has changed…for the better!

  4. Sad Sweethart Says:

    My no 1 worst thing is blogger wars and ruthless criticism of anything not compatible with a particular person’s beliefs, habits, likes, dislikes; snobbery of the experienced. And what is there to be proud of? That you spent n months/years pursuing a hobby? Many people have some kind of hobby, not always it makes them a mean person, but some people have natural potential for that.

  5. Hmm… “snobbery of the experienced?” Where I come from, experience is a valuable asset that helps organizations avoid costly past mistakes and provides perspective for future plans. But what do I know; I’ve only been in the tech business for 20 years!

    Much of the criticism of SL and LL comes from people who seek to make a legitimate 2nd or even 1st income from their efforts. If your last sentence was designed to say; (paraphrase) “Some people who participate in SL and blog as a hobby have the “gift” of a biting, sarcastic (“mean”) style, I completely agree. I am also proud to call many of them my friends and associates!

  6. Ooooo can I add the things that make you smile ALL THE FUCKING TIME to that list of badness. I know it’s nice to be cheerful, but please, time and a place crazy folk. Make it a gesture, make it something special, don’t make yourself look like a gormless retard all the time. Oh and blinging eyes…

    Good stuff, I missed it personally, but the wifey tells me paying for each prim you had to rez sucked all sorts of arse (even though you got the money back when you unrezzed them). Also prims were a free for all on a sim, so folk were competing for the prims and you had to be quick before they all got snaffled by your bastarding neighbours. Which lead to hidden prim stores and epic dramz.

    So yay for LL getting shot of that one.

  7. ♥JellyBean♥ Says:

    @Sad Sweethart – I’m not sure I understand your comment. My post was about the Best & Worst “INTERNAL” SL additions. Did you read it? I could go & on about the best & worst “external” SL additions such as blogs, xstreet, Snapzilla, etc etc… but I digress. That’s a post for another day.

  8. Mistletoe Says:

    I’m SO with you regarding talking tummies; only I personally may have made it #1. Of course I spend a lot of time in medieval(ish) sims where clicky shoes are (thankfully) rare. Talking food is another thing that annoys me. You wear a certain drink and it not only lists its ingredients in public chat, it also tells you that you enjoy it (“Mmm, that was delicious, [your full name]!”)! Down with godmoding food I say!

    Bloodlines is another thing I’d cheerfully do without.

    The noobie “Duckwalk” has GOT to go.

    99% of gestures annoy the piss out of me. It’s what keeps me out of clubs. Take your “Howlz” and your “multiple HOOgasms” and stick ’em where the sun don’t shine.

    I’m going to have to disagree with you regarding free accounts. I won’t debate it or anything; we just have a difference of opinion on that matter and that’s all I’ll say about it.

    The ability to make Tiny avatars (and really all manner of custom critters for that matter) is a definite plus. That opened up a whole new creative outlet for people.

    XStreet, while I know isn’t really within SL, I think is still worthy of mention. It’s a boon both to businesses and to consumers, saving countless hours of inworld time spent hunting and comparison shopping. I’m wary of LL taking it over, but so far it hasn’t given me reason to complain.

    One more big plus to SL, pardon if I sound fangirlish, is Torley (or as I sometimes call him, “The Good Linden”). His video tutorials on damn near everything SL-related have made the second lives of countless residents easier and clearer. He’s got a real knack for making residents feel like they too can be capable of awesome things.

  9. The Jewnas Brothers Says:

    Terrific post and I agree with them all except for the free accounts. I would say it’s both good and bad (for the above mentioned reasons), it’s unfair to just label it as bad. If SL had asked for payment during sign-up then I wouldn’t have signed up all together and closed the window, and I’m sure there’s a lot of good SLitizens existing now that would’ve done the same.

  10. one more thing for the worst list … facelights! ..especially when people walk around with 6 facelights on sucking all the atmosphere outta good builds..

  11. ♥JellyBean♥ Says:

    I totally understand the divide on the “Free Accounts”… I paid when I first joined & up til 2 years ago I was still paying a monthly membership fee. I’m not as strong towards being anti or pro free accounts because without free accounts, I wouldn’t have met HawksRock. Yet I still feel that free accounts have created a headache as well.

  12. hawksrock Says:

    Yup, I am definitely pro-free accounts, because I would not have joined SL at all if I had to pay. I think LL is the better for it though, because I can’t even begin to imagine how many $’s I have converted to L’s over my last 3 years in SL.

  13. Nieve Thor Says:

    At first when I read you post..I thought WTF for putting the free account as bad. Yup there’s pros and cons about giving the account for free. All the avatars in any virtual world are control by people. Even the pay-up users sometime is somewhat nasty too. I’m one of those from free-account but I think I’ve bought linden more than few people I know who have pay-account.

    I do agree on you with the talking tummy, gestures that flooding my chat window (that’s why I don’t like to public chat in when I’m in a club or Slingo/Tringo game), blingtard and the noisy shoes. Thank goodness I can push the particle setting down to zero.

    Xstreet / Onrez is worth to mention on one of the best too. Well it save me time to find something I like in there before tp to the in-world to check out the real things or buy straight from Xstreet when I can’t tp to the in-world store.

Comments are closed.

