Blog This

I usually refrain from screening myself. Most of the time, I blurt out what I’m thinking whether verbally or through blog posts. This practice has gotten me into sticky situations, but overall, I consider that I’m being true to myself. At least that’s what I tell myself in a half-hearted attempt to justify my actions. Though, while I may be quick to share my opinion and personal thoughts, I do have a line that I usually will not cross. I try to keep my thoughts and blog posts personally focused. I want everyone to know that my posts reflect my opinion and only my opinion. I also try not to personally attack anyone. I usually don’t discuss Second Life gossip in my blog posts. Instead, I try to aim at talking about my personal feelings regarding my online interactions. Lately, I have almost felt inclined to get involved in petty disagreements and mindless attempts to stir up controversy. Luckily, even though it went against my basic nature, I decided restraint was necessary. I knew that I had nothing to gain from throwing in my opinion. When you comment on a blog post full of mistruths and speculation, what do you hope to gain? 99% of the time you will only further engage the blogger and their “cronies” into a personal attack. The situation will then balloon out of control, and you would wish you had never posted that comment in the first place.

I think on a whole, that SL Bloggers need to step back and read through their blog posts. Try to read your posts with a fresh perspective and with the eye of a first time reader. If you can’t accomplish this, then ask people outside of your normal peer group to read them. Is the tone of most of your posts positive or negative? Are your posts supportive or critical? Do you use language that is inflammatory and accusing?

What was your attempt when you started your blog? Did you want your blog to be an accurate reflection of who you are or to highlight amazing ideas and people in the Second Life community? How far have you crept away from that goal? Have you unnecessarily hurt people just to get your blog readership numbers up?

Blog readers, here is a question for you: Do bloggers have a moral obligation to try to ensure that their blog posts regarding other residents and businesses in Second Life are truthful? Should they be required to at least attempt to talk to the parties involved before they post? As a member of the Second Life community and a blog reader, are you obligated to call bloggers out when they attempt to be negative, critical or overly mean in their reviews or posts?

Believe me; I want to encourage everyone to be true to themselves. As I stated before blogging can be very therapeutic, so feel free to pour your thoughts out on the screen. Though if your true self just happens to be a petty hateful bitch that likes to dwell on other’s flaws and point out half truths and sometimes outright lies, then do you have the right to complain and cry, when people dislike you? Well, one thing I’ve picked up here is that everyone always has the right to complain, and lucky for all of us, they usually have 3 or 4 blogs, Plurk and Twitter to ensure everyone gets to see it.

9 Responses to “Blog This”

  1. I try hard not to blog negative things about specific individuals. It just does not feel right to me. Having said that, I do sometimes talk about the general concept and talk about why certain events might have pissed me off without naming names.

    Basically I can’t see the point of getting into a pissing match on a blog. Hits don’t measure my worth and I don’t give a shit if my blog gets 1000 hits a day or 100 or 10. I write for me and the few people who happen to enjoy what I have to say.

  2. Lizzie Lexington Says:

    I took a seminar once called “Perspective is Reality”. And from my perspective, LOL, two individuals can a view a situation with two completely different realities. The thing for me is the author saying “this is how I saw it or see it” and are they expressing feelings.

    I have named names, shouted my feelings to all the world but it was from my view. Would I make up situations, nope. I believe in karma too much to do that. Could my perspective been completely off base? Of course. But that’s the thing with blogging, its often an emotional journey for the person sitting at the keyboard.

  3. Daila Holder Says:

    Thanks Chestnut and Lizzie for your responses!!

    I want to be clear that just because I may not blog particular things doesn’t mean that I think it is not okay to blog them.

    For example, if a blog post says I think that this event was not planned very well and these problems should be addressed in the future. That to me sounds like an opinion, and it is well within your right to do that on your personal blog.

    On the other hand, if a post said that John Doe told me that Jane Doe is a liar and made threats against other people, then I as the blog reader wonder what reason a blogger has to repeat unsubstantiated gossip. Why not just ask Jane Doe her side first before you slander her?

    SL is a business for many people, and unfortunately it also serves as other’s only social connection. A blog post that is presented as fact that is based on secondhand gossip can really follow a person around forever.

    So my personal blogging style doesn’t usually include repeating gossip, because of that reason. Does that mean that I would never call anyone out or name names, if I felt strongly enough about the situation? Well I’m not sure, but if I did, I’d try very hard to ensure what I wrote was as truthful as possible and make sure to point out that anything that was just the opinion of the blogger in question.

    But the real reason for the post is to discover if people really started blogs just to highlight negativity in SL, or if they veered off the path at some point. I also wanted to know if readers felt that bloggers had a moral obligation to be truthful or at least attempt to be truthful when reporting something as fact?

    • Lizzie Lexington Says:

      oh yeah hearsay is BS often. I try my hardest not to include hearsay but I am not going to say nope I never did just in case LOL.. The only time I know for sure I did this was when a ex of mine’s wife who I didn’t know about contacted me. Otherwise I try to leave my words as my experiences and perspectives.

    • ♥JellyBean♥ Says:

      On the naming names front, as very much witnessed here on the Rev… One post names someone and the readers get up in arms, circle the wagons & it’s HOW DARE YOU flame on! Another post, same blog, mentions someone who ‘may’ be a racist. Remmy that? Now it was ‘hearsay’ and the readers go ballistic wanting a name now! Now a name in this case would have been wrong since the post was based on second hand info but that didn’t seem to matter much to the readers/commenters. You’re pretty much damned if you do, damned if you don’t.

  4. Are there people who started blogs to highlight negativity? Ummm Brutal Honesty anyone? The answer is yes, of course. And plenty of people do not feel bound by the truth either.

    Are these blogs people respect? It sort of like the difference between the NY Times and the Enquirer. Which one do you want to read? Which one is a respected source for actual news?

  5. hawksrock Says:

    Hmmm do bloggers have a moral responsibility to tell the truth. I obviously want to say… YES! but then I think of blogs like the Onion or other satirical type pieces, and I think that ultimately different blogs serve different audiences. Does the burden of responsibility lie with the person writing the satire, or the person who is reading it to be smart enough to know it is satire? I know several old people in my life, who actually think Stephen Colbert is a stand up conservative, because of the sound bites they have heard from his show. I just shake my head, and walk on.

    I hate to see blogs that intentionally mislead people and are quick to run stories based just on hearsay, because they are just going for the glory of being muckrakers. I also really hate when blogs make light of the fact that they were told specifically NOT to post a private chat log, but then they do it anyways in a gleeful manner. But in the end, these very people are rewarded with traffic and the potential to sell advertising, because people love to watch a train wreck whether it is morally right or not.

    • Lizzie Lexington Says:

      Lizzie Lexington has boarded the train destined for disaster one to many times LOL.

  6. Yeah Hawks, its kind of unbelievable. I wrote my previous comment about BH before I saw the recent SCD post. All I can say is the lack of integrity displayed on that particular post is really astounding.

Comments are closed.

