Why Second Life Makes Me Love My Country

patriotic

I love my country; the good old US of A. Really. Well, I did, and I think I will again. In fact, a certain aspect of SL has made a big push in that direction.

From the point at which I was really able to understand various layers of patriotism (let’s say 16) up until the 2008 election started to get swingin’, I was a conflicted girl. I’d read biographies of Teddy Roosevelt and Jefferson and shake my head; how could the legacy of those men beget the bumbling White House I was seeing. I took part in several dramatic readings of The Pledge to Resist at various theatrical locales, sighing rather pretentiously with my fellow theatre majors ‘Why can’t they just see what’s happening?’ I had all seven seasons of The West Wing on repeat. Constantly. Jed Bartlett was my personal president.

I spent my formative years growing up with the Bush administration (I’m in my early 20’s) and had no idea it could ever really make sense to be patriotic if that meant supporting our commander in chief. Eventually I learned that I can love the ideas that made my country while not loving what it was doing. One of the things that made that possible for me? Watching large groups of people in Second Life be gigantic assholes to each other.

No, hear me out. When I see or hear about people fighting over land, fashion, boyfriends, whatever, I get a little happy. I’ll read about it and mentally say ‘you go!’ for both sides. Unless it involves me, of course, and then the other side is totally wrong and must be wiped from the Earth. But that’s not my point. My point is: I love that I live in a place where it’s ok to scream your opinions and obscenities from the rooftop. It’s indoctrinated, and they haven’t tried to take that particular right away from me yet. I love that you have the inaliable right to call me a giant waggling cunt and face no kind of organized persecution for it. Go ahead, try it, it’s fun!

So rejoice in the drama that you see every day. Love the fact that you have the ability to have your own opinion. Tell the drama makers ‘good job’ and give them a cookie. Pitch in with your own thoughts and opinions on the argument even if you have nothing to do with it. It’s the blog-owners right to keep your opinions from appearing on their site, but put your ideas out there. And if she doesn’t publish your opinions, she’s exercising her own rights too. I love the dramablogosphere for the wonderful free exchange of ideas, opinions and vitriol that it is. Don’t ever change, you guys.

16 Responses to “Why Second Life Makes Me Love My Country”

  1. […] helping me learn to love my country. It’s not exactly fashion-oriented, so I posted it up at The SL Revolution. I think some of our readers may like it, though. Take a […]

  2. all hail the giant waggling cunt! may your amber waves of labia ever be free 😉

  3. It’s very true. My good SL friend is from Saudi Arabia. I love talking to him about us being in Iraq, Afghanistan, Middle Eastern history, etc. But if I send him a link he sometimes says, “I’ll look at it later when I am on uncensored Internet”.

    I may not be happy with the last 7 years of this country or where we are heading right now… but I still ❤ it.

  4. Lizzie Lexington Says:

    YAY for free speech. Yay for drama – I think its a form of cardiovascular exercise!

  5. You guys are so right 🙂

    and @Thema, I’m totally stitching that on a pillow.

  6. @Iris of the flapping vag
    please sell the pillow on your etsy 😛

  7. I’m sure you’ve heard the quote by Mark Twain, defining patriotism as loving your country always and loving your government when they deserve it.

  8. Small nit about an otherwise good post… it’s “commander-in-chief,” and he’s only the CiC of the military. Civilians like you and me should just say our President. Bush the Younger got us into the habit of saying otherwise, and it’s incorrect. Being in my early 40s, I remember when no civilian used that phrase with “our” in front of it.

  9. Joshua Walsh Says:

    psst…it’s ‘commander in chief’ not ‘commander and chief’ 😉

  10. Joshua Walsh Says:

    Oh shit, lysana already corrected you. SORRY!

  11. Corrected 🙂 I used the phrase because it seems like you can only use the word ‘president’ so much before it loses all meaning. Kinda like ‘trombone.’

  12. Loquacia Loon Says:

    don’t forget though that second life isn’t america – sometimes the assumption that it is makes the rest of us from other places (which have issues with the US partic about an illegal immoral war) feel … uncomfortable.

    having said that, Obama was the right choice (well done!) and yes the US is still, as you say, the land of personal liberty and limitless possibility. just do something now about your gun laws and i might dare to come visit!!

    but y’know the rest of the world isn’t too bad, and since you are just in your 20’s, try to see as much of it as you can. because it is only in the contrasts that you truly get to understand your own place on earth.

  13. FYI – When displaying the flag against a wall, vertically or horizontally, the flag’s union (stars) should be at the top, to the flag’s own right, and to the observer’s left. http://www.usflag.org/flagetiquette.html

    As for gun laws Loquacia; Only one person with a concealed carry permit, has been arrested for a crime involving a firearm since 1997 in the US. I have personally stopped a violent crime from being committed because I had the right to keep and bear arms! Canada has wasted millions of dollars confiscating guns from law abiding citizens while violent crime has increased.

    In Great Britain “The increase in the use of handguns by criminals since the implementation of the 1997 Act clearly raises important questions for policy-makers considering further controls on legally-held firearms.” Recently, a rural man was arrested after shooting an armed intruder with a legally owned shotgun, after having been robbed and assulted twice before by the same roving gang of hooligans.

    Australia is probably the best example of gun laws run amok. After Australian lawmakers passed widespread gun bans, owners were forced to surrender about 650,000 weapons, which were later slated for destruction, according to statistics from the Australian Sporting Shooters Association.

    The bans were not limited to so-called “assault” weapons or military-type firearms, but also to .22 rifles and shotguns. The effort cost the Australian government about $500 million, said association representative Keith Tidswell.

    Though lawmakers responsible for passing the ban promised a safer country, the nation’s crime statistics tell a different story:

    * Countrywide, homicides are up 3.2 percent;

    * Assaults are up 8.6 percent;

    * Amazingly, armed robberies have climbed nearly 45 percent;

    * In the Australian state of Victoria, gun homicides have climbed 300 percent;

    * In the 25 years before the gun bans, crime in Australia had been dropping steadily;

    * There has been a reported “dramatic increase” in home burglaries and assaults on the elderly.

    At the time of the ban, which followed an April 29, 1996 shooting at a Port Arthur tourist spot by lone gunman Martin Bryant, the continent had an annual murder-by-firearm rate of about 1.8 per 100,000 persons, “a safe society by any standards,” said Tidswell. But such low rates of crime and rare shootings did not deter then-Prime Minister John Howard from calling for and supporting the weapons ban.

    Loquacia, I invite you to both visit me in the United States without fear. I can guarantee you will have a great time and be VERY safe. In fact, if by some unlikely chance a criminal should attempt to assault, rob, rape or otherwise harm you in my presence, I promise to NOT abandon you or wait 20 minutes or more for the donut eaters (police) to arrive, but will instead dispatch them quickly, using my .45 automatic, for which I have a concealed carry permit. Heck, if you want, I will even teach you how to shoot!

  14. Just dropping by.Btw, you website have great content!

    ______________________________
    Unlimited Public Records Searches!

  15. Loquacia Loon Says:

    thanks for vouching for my personal safety. LOL

    hmmm … found these stats interesting :

    http://www.ojp.usdoj.gov/bjs/guns.htm

  16. Great post , Iris.
    Patriotism isn’t always about following behind our leaders in a blind lemming fashion but rather to celebrate and appreciate the freedoms and diversities found in our country.

    Onto gun laws…. I personally believe our carrying concealed weapon law is a good thing. The people who have those permits have a damn good reason for them and the correct training and education in gun responsibilites.

    Think of it like a kid who gets a drivers license…

    If said kid isn’t properly educated on the basic car functioning (oil changes, fluid levels, expense involved for repairs) then this kid has no qualms about going out and tearing up the car since they don’t have the first clue about what they happen to be damaging by their careless driving..

    Educate said kid on all the things involved in car ownership (changing tires, checking fluid levels, insurance, etc. ) and they will have more respect for both driving privledges and also will be more aware of the aspects (and take pride in) of being a driver.

    The same can be said of gun owners with a conceal permit. They have been thoroughly educated on the privledges afforded them, the laws binding them, and the consequences of having that privledge.

    I am proud to know I have the right to bear arms and that my fellow americans can do the same. Along with ownership comes responsibilities.

Comments are closed.

