Everyone Lies

Don’t even act like you don’t (or haven’t!)  Everyone lies and there’s no way around it.

If you are seeking a SL relationship .. you’re going to get lied to.  Sure it could be something small and maybe it won’t really matter in the scheme of things, but at some point you’re going to get lied to.

I’ve never understood why so many people get so up in arms about how they were lied to by their partner.  Maybe their partner isn’t actually single IRL (but technically are) or maybe you told your partner you don’t smoke, but actually you do.

What’s one to do if you’re being lied to?  Nothing.  Why?  Everyone lies, but some are just better at it than others.  If you’ve caught your partner in a lie it simply means they aren’t as good at it as maybe you are.  Lies come in all shapes and sizes and as a person its your duty to decide which lies are over the line.

Some lies are just a given.  If you sleep with someone behind your partner’s back and don’t come clean that’s horrible – BUT – coming clean doesn’t exonerate you from your deed.  Its still horrible.  There’s generally no getting out of that.  So your choices are either A) don’t do it in the first place.  B)  Lie better and ditch the conscience.   C)  Hope you’re good enough in the sack that your partner forgives you.

If at any point you do something completely heinous and you’re forgiven by your partner it means they probably have a huge lie they are keeping from you and once it comes out:  they will refer back to that horrible horrible moment when you sent their world into a downward spiral. 

Beware.  Everyone’s telling lies about something.  Either you understand that everyone’s human, or you continue living your own lie.

11 Responses to “Everyone Lies”

  1. LMAO! Leave it to you guys to just brng it all out in the open and say it like it is. It takes some of us longer than others to realize this. And when we finally do…it can be a major disappointment. Wish I’d read this waaaay back when. But it takes what it takes.

    Your world, your imagination….can’t we sugarcoat it a little bit and call it imagination instead of lies? 😉

  2. Paulette Snook Says:

    Loved the post and oh so true! As this is SL people have the means to present the version of themselves they may aspire too rather than the whole package. We all have regrets and aspects of ourselves we don’t like as much as other parts. Who is to say we have to advertise all our flaws in a virtual setting when it can be so liberating to leave them behind for just a while 🙂

  3. I think here is where you have to remember Gregory House’s catchphrase: Everybody lies. Everyone does, it’s a fact of life. And besides, we’re on the Internet, where we get to lie about our appearance as a matter of course. So my vote is simply stop caring so much when it’s a lie, especially when online. Sure, it never is good to do it in the first place, but what’s it really gonna hurt in the end?

  4. I can’t say I disagree with all of you. As a matter of fact I agree with you 3 on mostly all counts.

    The line between lie and honesty is a big meandering snake and everyone has their own line of which lies are acceptable and which aren’t.

    I myself don’t really lie – I just don’t volunteer information. My NOW husband was my SL partner for 2 years before we made the big move and whatnot .. anyway he never knew I smoked because he never asked. I never said I didn’t – but he never asked me and the conversation never came up. So technically it isn’t a lie – it only became a lie when we started living together and I’d only smoke when I was gone at work.

    See how that line waves around all crazy?

    The moment people accept that everyone lies and stops making a huge ass deal about it – that’ll be the exact moment that everyone grows up just a tiny bit and starts to lose the better-than-you syndrome.

  5. SL is a roleplaying environment. ’nuff said.

  6. Yes, everyone lies. Or is lied to.

    People are fake bastards, most of the time.

  7. I don’t understand people that are seeking for a RL relationship in SL. Get up from that computer and go out! Meet real people. Stop playing with pixel-dolls when you are in need of firm warm flesh.

  8. You mean I’m not a splotch-eared bunny in real life? My virtual life has been a sham!

    *sobs bitterly*

  9. Gahum Riptide Says:

    So Dandelion, you’re telling us that you’re a fraud and a liar, because as you say, “real people” exist offline, right?

  10. No, I am telling you that seeking for relationships are done AFK.
    And I’m telling you that SL is not the same as FaceBook.
    And also, that lies are not exclusive to SL (nor even FB) but they can be encountered in meatspace too. But definitions of lies in each medium are different. And also, they differ from situation to situation. E.g. if we meet on the grid I might tell you that I don’t smoke. As I, dandellion Kimban, don’t. At the same time, my human will light a cigarette and puff the smoke towards the monitor. On the other hand, I might tell that to somebody that is much closer to me, nevermind that we met only iSL, and that would be a lie. Can you see the difference?

  11. lol

Comments are closed.

