The 419

[10:39] Imas Cammer: Hey baby! How was your day today? x

[10:40] Gull Libel: It was tiring, sweetie… but I’m glad to be home and on SL with you πŸ™‚

[10:40] Gull Libel: And how are you, sweets?

[10:41] Imas Cammer: Hmmm… I have an RL problem. 😦

[10:42] Gull Libel: Oh, what’s up?

[10:42] Imas Cammer: You remember how I told you a few months back that my father died a few years ago, and that my mom still lives in Nigeria?

[10:43] Gull Libel: I remember, baby. You’ve had it rough 😦

[10:44] Imas Cammer: Yeah 😦 Well, you remember when you told me how it’s good for people to help people less fortunate than themselves?

[10:45] Gull Libel: I remember baby… and I’d do anything to help you πŸ™‚

[10:46] Imas Cammer: πŸ™‚

[10:46] Imas Cammer: When my dad left the bank he ran, he left quite a lot of money in a bank account in Nigeria, but my mom says she can’t touch it unless she gets some help… we’d be happy to share some of it with you if you can…

Imagine the ‘419 scam in Second Life, but instead of some suspect email landing straight into your junk folder, it’s an avatar. One which somebody has put work into and made to look pretty, and they start up a relationship with someone, grooming them over several weeks or months until a trust develops between them.

Men are naturally protective of their women. Women instantly want to rush to the aid of their men.

And the scammers aren’t always after your money.. sometimes, information is just as valuable to them.

[07:21] Imas Cammer: I really feel a strong connection with you, baby – I’d love to call you sometime. What’s your phone number?

[21:32] Imas Cammer: Your SL name is nice, but I was wondering today what your real name is, baby?

[16:01] Imas Cammer: I found something beautiful in a store today and I’d love to send it you for your birthday, baby! What’s your address?

It’s only a matter of time before the scammers hit Second Life, if they haven’t already.

Keep your wits about you.

8 Responses to “The 419”

  1. I will never SLdate again! *sobs*

  2. They’re already here, man. They’re already here. >.<

  3. Cherie Parker Says:

    Ok.. I’m officially scared now. *shivers

  4. ROFL Why you gotta bring up Nigeria, Prad? Why?

  5. […] Imprudence 1.1.0 RC1 is available CNN is upping its presence in Second Life The 419 Nigerian Letter scam coming to a sim near you? […]

  6. > it’s an avatar. One which somebody has put work into
    > and made to look pretty, and they start up a relationship
    > with someone, grooming them over several weeks or months
    > until a trust develops between them

    That wouldn’t be profitable enough, I think – scam doesn’t work that way:
    Scammers can’t waste their time in building trust relationships – they send 1 zillion emails, then they interact only with those few people (‘few’ in a relative way) that will trust to them.

    I don’t think the scammers are going to hit Second Life in a massive way – that would have already happened since many years.

    Should Linden Lab change how they manage privacy settings / email details of SL users, it could happen, though.

    [sorry for my poor english – was I clear enough?]

  7. Everyone can dogpile me here, but I can’t truly trust anyone in SL until I know who the hell they really are. Does it mean I pounce on all my “friends” for personal info like an address or phone number or whatever? Nope. I never ask. And frankly I’m regretting not asking one SL friend in particular – who has absolutely vanished from the grid, abandoning her home and land and leaving us, her “friends,” worried.

    People who develop real relationships eventually share real names, pics and e-mail addresses, right? Or is just me? I know I’ve done so with a couple of people I’ve met in SL, and I’m happy in the knowledge that if the grid permanently crashes — or whenever we all move on from this place — we can still keep in touch.

    And I sure as hell wouldn’t show my naked bits on a regular basis to some SL dude who could really be, I don’t know, 12 or something. Or a girl.

    PRAD, you’re gonna make everyone PARANOID. Quit it.

  8. What an amazing story. Links very well with your previous post.

Comments are closed.

