Fashion Feed WTF

Ok yeah. These pictures are rather… old. I picked out the pictures, added them to the post, saved it and promptly forgot. I’d say that I would do better next time, but I’m not making any promises.


(from the blog Pandora Designs)

Composition Fail.
If you have 2 images that you want to put together and they are facing in different directions, place them so they are facing each other, not away. A natural reaction for the viewer is to follow where the subject’s eyes are looking. Much better to have it facing the other image instead of off bloody the picture.

2 images shot at different angles typically do not go well together. Left side is looking down and right is looking up. Think about it this way… the viewer is the “camera” and if we seem to move when looking at 2 sides of one picture it’s rather confusing to the eyes.

Lighting Fail – Left Image.
If you want to wear latex with shine right there on the texture, how about lighting the rest of the scene to match? Something bright would have made it not look… off.

I’m not certain, but I think that may be the default windlight setting. Default isn’t easy to get to look good normally, but add that with darkness and things can get ugly fast. SL shadow just isn’t all that appealing.

While windlight does suck and lags us all to hell, at least we have some better options for lighting a subject. Still haven’t figured it out? Try this post.

Angle Fail – Right Image.
Perhaps that angle isn’t really the best. Because he sure does look rather funny playing with himself. Or whatever he is that he’s doing. I know what the pose is supposed to be doing, but because it doesn’t fit the avie perfectly and the angle it was shot in, the picture just doesn’t look very appealing.

Needless to say, the worms eye view doesn’t really work for that shot. Perhaps a more centralized camera position would have been better.

elemiah-opening3

(resized picture from nici sewell’s post on iheartsl.com)

Resize Fail.
Since these pictures were grabbed off the feed months ago, you’ll just have to take my word for this. You know how sometimes pictures go off the side of the content section of the feed and if you don’t have a large monitor or the browser isn’t full screen you have to scroll? This was one of those.

A lot of people do complain about this. Not just the scrolling bit, but really large pictures do make it load slower. For Fashion World of SL, 512px width is perfect. The easiest way is to use flickr to resize using the “all sizes” link, click on the size that is 512px width or less and copying the html into the blog post.

Composition Fail.
One thing I’m not a big fan of is taking pictures of a sign texture in a store. First of all there is so much going on that it is difficult to focus on what I’m supposed to be focusing on. Plus while you are standing there getting into position, you must have missed the fact that you have a staircase coming out of your head. That just looks funny.

If you are a blogger and can’t get the sale/opening/release/whatever actual texture, focus on the sign and crop the image so that is all we see. If you want to be standing in front of it, then get a bit closer and rotate the camera so all we see is the sign and you. Less is more in this case.

breakfast-at-tiffanys-the-dress-ad
(from Lemania Indigo Designs)

Composition Fail.
As an editor, one of the worst things to be asked of is doing a picture in picture. Because you rarely can get it to look right. Different backgrounds or even the same background in a different angle or section without completely compartmentalizing them typically doesn’t work. It’s confusing. You want the viewer’s first reaction to be the dress, not the background.

Mini tutorial – choose the background first. Bring it into SL. Put it on a backdrop. Choose your poses. Put them into 3 poseballs or stands and place in position. Make the ones you aren’t using fully transparent, or copy the z location and move them up out of the shot. Do the three shots from the same angle. Crop and arrange in your photo editor of choice. Add text.

You can green screen, but with the amount of alpha hair and clothing textures it’ll just be even more of a hastle.


(From Suri Christen at Free*Style)

Background Fail.
One of the largest issues with using RL pictures as a background is getting the lighting and shadows correct. The second is the simple fact that avies are still cartoons and look weird in RL photos, but it’s not so much the case in this.

Whatever out of shot is lighting the avies is not lighting the background scene or even effecting it. Most viewers will not know why it looks off, just that it does.

Getting perspective right is another difficult problem. Either the avie on the right is a giant (larger than the tree close to the same ground level) or floating.

Cooch Flap Fail.
Resizing the cooch flap so the textures match and the same length as the shorts would make it look less like a flap. Not to mention the creator being a bit more on the happy side.


(From Suri Christen at Free*Style)

Pose Fail.
Not being able to read the writing on the tee-shirt is an easiest way to tell that you should pick a different pose. There are many poses out there with the same type of attitude but without the broken ribs. I’m rather flexible, but I can’t tilt at the chest joint like that. It’s the abdomen joint you should use to offset the hips.

**side note** It was a difficult decision to use the same person twice, but I really couldn’t bring myself to not use the first one only for the excuse to say cooch flap. And I’m too lazy to look for another example. Sorry Suri, nothing personal.

luckychairspecialcagedkittenplatforms
(From the blog She’s So Unusual)

This just makes my kitties cry.

31 Responses to “Fashion Feed WTF”

  1. Tenshi Vielle Says:

    lol …lol…lol…gigglesnarfle.

  2. Yay! I made it on the revolution! I made it on the revoltion! /me dances madly around

    ’tis me in the first pic (on the right in case you wonder), and London (the blogger on the left) slapped them together to simply draw attention to a totally unrelated post. No artistic perfection was tried to achieve – in fact artistic imperfection was the goal. It even says so in the text, but I gather you only scanned for the images? Well, we all do in a way.

    Still, I made it on the revoltuion, I made it on the revolution /me picks up the mad dance again

  3. Tarissa Tripsa Says:

    Peter! Pull yourself together but congrats anyway! 😛
    To be honest, the first thing I did was to scroll down to see if anything of my thingies were in it. I admit having too large pictures…
    What I don’t like to see are those over blurry pictures just to make the edges seem less scruffy, instead of using high-res pictures in the first place. There are so much worse pictures out there, so I think you chose a rather modest collection.

  4. […] I have some ongoing drafts: friends’ business, a hint about the schizophrenic nature of seduction, the pride of potatoes (yes, pride!) so on… and I come back from my “holidays” to talk about what I felt when somebody slammed one of my pictures. […]

  5. Apparently this will be an unpopular opinion, but why is it necessary to criticize people who are trying to do something that they enjoy as a hobby, something for fun — not everyone is a Photoshop or layout expert. In this article you aren’t criticizing the clothes that people make, or the things they build in world to sell, you’re criticizing people who are blogging for fun, posting about other people’s items. I guess I just don’t get it. It’s like trying to create drama where there is none, trying to stir things up just for the sake of making people feel bad. Just like this country’s obsession with “reality” television, or the daytime talk shows — the majority of people seem to love seeing other people be degraded; I guess it makes them feel better about themselves. “At least I’m not *that* bad.” Makes me sad.

  6. Heidi Halberstadt Says:

    I have to agree with Salvia on this one. If you don’t like what you see, you have the option to click away, or send a message to the blogger. Hey, you MIGHT even offer to help out and teach them to do it the right way, instead of blogging about their fails. Critiquing is easy, helping to make it better maybe not so much so?

  7. @Peter: Good you are having fun with it. I do rarely read the text unless somthing catches my eye. Most people are actually like that because of the sheer volume of the feeds. Which is why pictures with a clear focus to the meaning of the post is so important.

    I didn’t use that picture to be mean and say: you people suck and should have the right to take screenshots taken away. I saw things in it that showed a clear representation of issues that are not uncommon in the feeds.

    @Tarissa: I agree. I don’t like the over blurry ones either. Sometimes though its the bad resizing by the blog and not the picture itself. But I will talk about that in another post.

    Yes I did choose a modest collection for specific reasons. A picture with a few clear issues is much easier to visualize why it doesn’t work and how it would look better done in a different way.

    @Salvia: Doing something as a hobby does not make you immune to criticism. The simple act of adding your hobby to the feeds takes it from “just something I do for fun” and into something you share with the community for respect/admiration/whatever.

    Honestly I’m tired of that excuse. No one creates anything in SL because they have to. They do it because they enjoy it. Even those who make a living can make more with less hours put in the real world. Does that mean everyone should be met with praise for everything they do? No. Because you learn more from mistakes than you do when you inadvertently get it right.

    I don’t make clothes. I am pretty bloody fashion challenged actually. So I’m not going to talk about the clothes and leave it up to those who understand it. I also stumble my way though photoshop and have a basic understanding of advertising. However, as a photographer and filmmaker I have a pretty decent knowledge base of lighting, compostition, angles, ect.

    You have the right to take what I say or the opinion itself anyway you’d like. However, if I was attempting to create “drama,” be mean or degrade people there are so many other ways I could have said what I did. If all I wanted to do was point and laugh, I wouldn’t have spent so much time on pointing out the why it didn’t work and giving tips. Oh wait. Because I’m not a person who coddles people, all that really doesn’t matter.

  8. If the fashion feeds overwhelm you, you might be interested in a little tool I created and about which I blogged just yesterday: http://stindberg.blogspot.com/2009/01/laying-some-pipe.html – this will effectively cut down the amount of posts you get presented.

  9. @Heidi: Did you actually read the post? Each one has a why it doesn’t work and how I’d do it to make it work. So really your only problem is that I did it publically so anyone can learn it instead of spending hours of my time IMing every single person who does it and repeating the tips.

  10. Heidi Halberstadt Says:

    It can’t be that complicated to write ONE e-mail with CC to the five people you criticized, saying something along the lines “Hello, my name is luth, I am a photographer and filmmaker in RL and thought these tips might prove helpful to you”. They might tell you to shove it, but at least you’d have offered them assistance with their skills.

    Take it or leave it, it’s of course up to you, but I was just pointing out what I felt to be a flaw in your method, just as you have with your post. No offense intended.

  11. hawksrock Says:

    I think the point is that these are just examples of common oversights on the feed. If you im 5 people, you get 5 people to read it. If you put it on a blog, you give the community the opportunity to learn from someone who has expertise in the field, and everyone has the opportunity to comment back on the experience with additional advice or perspectives. The post wasn’t written in an accusatory tone, but as a helpful list of pitfalls to avoid and suggestions for how to improve them. We need more opinions out there, and not just everybody patting everybody on the back.

  12. @ hawks ‘we need more opinions out there’.

    Do we? lol I really don’t think opinion is an area the fashion community is lacking in 😛 I think we need more ‘ you go’ more ‘work that kitten in a cage shoe, girl u are doin it’. If ppl didnt take some pictures that weren’t as ‘FAB’ as other pictures, the flawless fab-o pictures wouldn’t be all that dang fab by comparrasion right? Learning curve, most of us are on one.

    Not saying anything is wrong with this article or that it was handled with a mean spirit or anything. I am just saying whats wrong with less than perfect? We have all grown too jaded I think. I think the cool thing about SL is the fact that anyone that wants to can try to be creative, pissing on people for not being ‘up to the mustard’ of the pros, well … you can call it throwing them in front of learning curve bus – tough love, if you will. I can call it scaring the bajeebers out of ppl who may have wanted to express themselves but fear a public mocking. Apples/Oranges

  13. This taught me one thing, if i ever own a shop, never start a blog about it until i graduate from an art college and become a master in photoshop otherwise i might get called out in public.

    great observation, to my untrained eyes, they seem alright to me.
    As for Suri’s (free*style) blog, that’s her way to let people know that those freebies are out there, 80% of the times people will grab stuff anyways even if the picture looked like it was taken by a fresh newbie.

  14. QueenKellee Kuu Says:

    Why is critisism so evil? Is it poison? If it touches you do you get a terminal disease?…

    …But, I understand, I do. Especially those who do this as a hobby. But you must learn to separate the thing *points at it* and you. Talking about the thing is NOT talking about you, personally. But, talking about the thing will help improve YOUR skills.

    It’s a process of toughing your skin, but it’s good for you. Like vitamins.

    I think one of absolutely first things you need to learn when you do “creative” sutff is how to take critisism. How to learn to love it, in fact. I love it. I commonly ask for critisim for things I’m working on. It’s the single tool in my toolshed that I cannot provide for myself because I only have my own perspecitve. I have seen time and time and time again how the viewpoint of someone else has helped me immensely.

    It’s silly to suggest her to email them individually. If they have put themselves out there in the public as bloggers On The Feed, that has a level of responsiblity, I think. They air their work, Luth can air her critiques. If you’re a blogger on the fashion feed, I should hope that you care enough about what you do, hobby or full time job, that you want to learn and get better at it. Just because someone finds flaws and points them out doesn’t mean they are mean spirited, or wrong, or rude, or causing drama.

    Sure, it sucks be plucked out and pointed out and said “lookit!” but you only have to be as upset or embarrased as you choose to be (see Peter’s hilarious reaction).

    And waaay more than “the trend to degrade people”, I’m honestly more annoyed by the requirement these days that everyone must be coddled. We’re not children. We’re adults, striving to be our best selves.

  15. I think this is a case of “it isn’t what you do that counts – it’s the way that you do it”.

    Here we have a blog that (I assume) was written to be helpful by showing how to avoid common mistakes and yet is couched in such a sneering tone (YOU FAIL) that it almost deserves it’s own to “mistakes to avoid” post.

    “Common mistake” is a much less aggressive term than “Fail” because it lacks the undertone of “you’re a failure and I’m not”.

    Tutorials and reviews containing positive criticism and advice are certainly needed and welcomed.

  16. Well, I guess the first thing that should be taken into account is the nature of SL Revolution: “Is your opinion different?” Furthermore, one of the parties that started SLR were the writers of a blog called ‘SL Mean Girls’ (pardon if I have the title wrong, my memory is not perfect). So, the audience should expect things to be snarky and perhaps a little antagonizing.

    On that note, I see where this post “fails”, as the term commonly used.

    Generally speaking, people don’t respond well to when they’re told they or their works are failures. Yes, some people will then work to prove people wrong or are able to completely disassociate from the poorly received work, but there’s a larger number that get turned off. So, if you do have some valuable information, it’s lost on the disgruntled audience that it is intended for.

    The second concern I have is that the images were not necessarily used with the creators’ permissions. In combination with being told a failure, this can make people feel like something was wrenched form them and stabbed a few times (even though they did put it in the public sphere to potentially be critiqued). I’m not really going to comment on any image rights, as I’m not versed in them, but the feelings are typically going to remain the same.

    As the saying, you attract more flies with honey than vinegar. If you want to give advice, be careful of being insulting. Otherwise you’ll have a communication fail. There are ways to be satirical and educational, but it’s a complicated balancing act.

  17. Hi; I just posted a comment at my own blog about my picture here, and thought I could copy-paste it here (laziness is my motto :-):

    1- After thinking a bit, I admited that there where mistakes in my pictures, but…

    2- I was surprised about my defensive reaction against a post that wasn’t aggresive, and decided that the public nature of Internet makes us more defensive, and also said that…

    3- Sometimes may be good that things are said without “a sugar coating”, if it is done in good faith, even if they may be hard to swallow *smiles*.

  18. You know, really no one cares what you are in RL, what degrees you have, what your RL job is, your expertise and so on. If you write a blog, critisizing someone who IMO takes a lot of time out during her day to offer freebies for new and not so new people, and perhaps don’t have the time or whatever else to post the ” perfect light, perfect angle, perfect pose” pic , for your obviously sore eyes – then click on the X and exit! It is like creating an issue when there is none. Also a hint, good blogging should ( require ), for you not to reply with a lengthy explanation, why and warum , you made an extra 5 minute read ( which is a blog itself ) to explain your POV!
    I am getting a bitter taste in my mouth, to read incoherent nonsense that sound so much like SCD. Rant about something that has merrit and not about someone trying to help others with her time and effort and ” bad pics”.

  19. I’m an RL non-fiction writer and editor. I used to be part of several online amateur writers’ communities. Note: “used to be”.

    One thing I learned about pointing out common mistakes or problem areas (quite apart from NOT calling them ‘failures’ or ‘bad writing’!) was never to pull examples at random out of other people’s stuff. The only way to get a message across was to make (as in write) the ‘examples’ myself.

    Yes, it took longer, but it was often received fairly well, people laughed WITH ME about how awful something could sound rather than took sides over any implied trashing of a writer a little lower down the learning curve.

    Even if you ask people if you could use them as examples, and they agree, you’re still treading on thin ice. People will pop up and defend them (on the lines of ‘whats wrong with her stuff i luv it shes got great storys and your a bitch’)…

    But it’s still not foolproof if you go for the DIY. Trying to offer ‘useful advice’ can still backfire on you seriously. I once wrote a longish post discussing an aspect of fiction writing and somebody disagreed with my take on it, and into the bargain decided it was All. About. Her (it wasn’t, specifically, but she was among those who had trouble with it).

    She didn’t spread ripples, she created a tsunami. Outcome? Really not worth a community-wide flame war for trying to explain how professional editors deal with the issue in hand. I actually left when I got ‘and we don’t even believe you’re a writer or editor’.

    Sometimes it’s just not worth the hassle.

  20. […] quality pics in the fashion feeds of SL™… I have to say that I completly agree with the SL Revolution post on this subject. And, please, don’t take it personal because it isn’t at all. I also […]

  21. First, I’m glad someone is addressing some of the photography on the fashion feed. Even if it’s just a blog for fun or to point out freebies, having an image that presents the item in the best light possible is better for both the creator and the blogger. If the image does the product a disservice, I’m much less likely to go buy it (or go get the freebie and maybe buy more of that creator’s stuff).

    Second, I agree with QueenKellee that folks need to develop thicker skins. If you’re posting something in a public forum, you have to be ready for all kinds of reactions.

    That said, using images without permission doesn’t sit well with me. I agree with Ari that creating one’s own bad examples to critique offers the same service to the community with less potential for the dreaded drama. If you then wanted to contact the blogger privately you could show her examples of *her* work that don’t pass your muster. Something else that might be helpful, if that’s the intention, is to create a bad example, and then create the same image with the suggested improvements, along with information about how you made those improvements.

  22. Actually, you can use pictures from the internet if you quote them. That has been done. Unless the person clearly says that they own copyright rights.

    Luth wrote a post in a constructive criticism manner and people are complaining…? Thicker skins are, indeed, needed. Also, how can someone improve themselves in something they do for a hobby if no ones tells them they are doing it wrong …?
    I thank every single person that pointed my flaws in my own blog and in my pics. It was the only way for me to see them and improve them!

  23. I don’t think it’s attacking anyone to point out when bad photography might be a hindrance to stores and designers.

    I know that in the past I’ve seen things on blogs where the picture had bad lighting or weird composition and decided I wasn’t interested, only to see it in world or in another blog and realize the skin/hair/clothes were much nicer than original presented

    Even taking pictures some windlight presets (I got mine off a notecard from Mariteya) makes things look much better. I’m not talking about an untouched picture vs one that has been photoshopped, but just the difference in seeing clothes or skin on a blog where bad lighting or composition has been used versus seeing it in SL with the windlight changes can make a HUGE difference. It can make a product go from looking like “eh” to “wow! I need that!”

  24. It seems like a simple solution would be for any writer to create the example materials for the tutorial herself or to get permission in advance. The excellent information would still be there. It doesn’t appropriate the work of other artists without their permission, and it doesn’t expose people to unnecessary humiliation, even if some subset of the subjects are at peace with it.

    I think most people would recognize a certain unfairness in excerpting from a writer’s blog or photographing a designer’s textures for an impromptu class on “failures” in writing ability or texturing. The article’s ostensible purpose is to teach design, but I think if we’re being honest, part of the entertainment is that it is harsh and, for better or worse, humiliation captures eyeballs. Some people won’t care. Some readers won’t see it as harsh. That seems less relevant than the fact that some subjects will be hurt. The simple fact that an activity brings pleasure doesn’t seem like a carte blanche for the artistic inquisition.

    Now is the professional art world harsh and sometimes unfair? Of course. In the real world, lots of rotten things happen. People snipe. People undercut competition, steal designs, and sometimes knock each other over the head. (None of which I’m attributing to the writer!) But just because they do happen doesn’t mean they have to — it seems a question of what kind of community we’re hoping to create?

  25. Try the Public Photo Garden on Kali Isle. Might help some folks anyway. Doesn’t cost anything except the eventual picture upload fees.

  26. very helpful Says:

    Thanks for the great tutorial. I am constantly searching the web for any information on blogging, fashion, photo layouts, presentation, and photo lighting. Now that everyone blogs; there is a wealth of information. Remember two years ago, we didn’t have 1/4 of all this. I love that people want to help improve SL and lend their skills. If I ever blog or post on the feed, I want my pics to have good representation of the designer and the subject. Three years when I started making clothes, I had the hardest time finding any info on making clothing in SL. It was trial and error and a very slow learning curve. Please people, don’t stop sharing! There are tons of us reading and learning.

  27. Song Indigo Says:

    Thanks so much for this post. I echo the sentiments of the previous poster. I’ve been doing amateur photography in SL since I started 3 years ago, it’s always been a hobby of mine, but now I want to get serious and start doing some professional work. I’m not a graphic artist or photographer rl, just a sometime writer and ordinary person, so I’ve not had tutoring in this sort of thing since doing some electives at high school. I’ve found your post to be informative yet at the same time funny and humorous, and immensely helpful. The photography business in SL is widely established and cut-throat, but I consider myself, though an amateur, to be capable of getting there if I apply myself and allow my artistic ‘eye’ full rein. Articles like this are very helpful – thank you!

  28. Well, thank you to use pics I made when I was a newb learning as a benchmark to my skills! I just laughed when I saw those pics because I do agree they could have looked much better! You have to understand we do this as a hobby, or at least I do. Personal or not, I think it’s rather harsh for you to scrutinize us for trying. I never ever said I was the best at making pics, if you look at syndicated fashion feeds, you WILL find lots and lots more worse off pics that what I made back in the days. I invite you to visit all my blogs and see my pic improvements! We are still people, not robots; if it’s not me you scrutinize this time, it’d be somebody else, and they could react a lot worse than I. Good day! http://www.flickr.com/photos/surichristen1st/

Comments are closed.

