Curtains Down for Encore Mayne?


In the midst of all the Encore Mayne madness that’s pock-marked the fashion feed as of late I just wanted to throw up a log of my own conversation with Miss Mayne, which she initiated (I don’t know her from Adam) after I commented on the Shopping Cart Disco post that outed her as a pay-to-play fashion blogger. Oddly enough, she wanted to be paid off for blogging about a freebie item.

Since the SCD post’s publish date, Mayne has scrambled to re-establish her credibility, but has proved to be her own worst botched public relations campaign (more drama here and here)

Very unflattering.

My suspicion is that she has been systematically instant messaging anyone who posted a commented with their Second Life™ name that was not in agreement with the method(s) to her madness (which was everyone) as it came to light that she was also messaging someone else on my friend list at the time who had also commented.

I share with you my conversation with Encore Mayne on November 30/08:

[15:07] EnCore Mayne: hi catero
[15:08] Catero Revolution: hello
[15:08] EnCore Mayne: just noticed your comment on SCD
[15:09] Catero Revolution: and it compelled you to IM me in-world?
[15:09] EnCore Mayne: of course
[15:09] EnCore Mayne: i was wondering if you’ve ever been over to my blog
[15:09] Catero Revolution: i have. i’ve also read the chat log as posted on scd
[15:10] EnCore Mayne: so your opinions of my blog are based on the log or the reviews you’ve seen
[15:11] Catero Revolution: is there a point to you IMing me, miss mayne?
[15:11] EnCore Mayne: yes
[15:12] Catero Revolution: please share
[15:14] EnCore Mayne: i was hoping you could answer some questions
[15:15] Catero Revolution: you have a 3 question allowance
[15:15] EnCore Mayne: [15:10] EnCore Mayne: so your opinions of my blog are based on the log or the reviews you’ve seen
[15:16] Catero Revolution: as i said, i’ve read/seen your blog prior to the SCD outing on your unethical practices
[15:17] EnCore Mayne: that suggests you have an opinion of my ethics before you read my private comm with [Store PR staff name removed]?
[15:18] Catero Revolution: i’ve had an opinion of your blog prior to reading the chat log
[15:18] Catero Revolution: one more question
[15:19] EnCore Mayne: no, that’s one question, you had an opinion of my “unethical” behaviour prior to the SCD post, i’d like to know what that might be based on?
[15:22] Catero Revolution: miss mayne, i’m not going to even ask you of your state of mind in that conversation. but i will say very clearly that asking for monetary or other compensation in exchange for writing a review is not only absolutely ridiculous, but also unethical
[15:24] EnCore Mayne: you seem to miss the “prior” to my stolen private communication, the question i was trying to get you to answer: you had an opinion of my “unethical” behaviour prior to the SCD post, i’d like to know what that might be based on?
[15:26] Catero Revolution: i doubt the sl public was aware of your unethical practices prior to the post. and you’ve just gone over the 3 question limit
[15:26] EnCore Mayne: clever, you never answered but the first
[15:27] EnCore Mayne: let me surmise that the unethically revealed log has completely supressed any prior knowledge you may or may not have had of me or my work
[15:29] EnCore Mayne: have you exhausted your squirming?
[15:30] Catero Revolution: i have no reason to squirm. i’m actually in several other IMs. the log was revealed ethically, bypassing linden labs tos
[15:32] EnCore Mayne: yer not about to answer anything that goes outside of your firm beliefs based on that log
[15:37] Catero Revolution: listen, i don’t know you and i have no idea why you’re IMing me outside of the fact that i did not post in agreeance with your ideals and/or actions. deal with it
[15:38] EnCore Mayne: i am
[15:38] EnCore Mayne: thanks love
[15:39] EnCore Mayne: sure wouldn’t want my good name to be dragged through the mud too much, haha
[15:39] EnCore Mayne: i’m ending this comm, please do the same, thanks

In reading other comments, mine was very tame. Others described her as “haughty, and poor, sprinkled with an attempt to be overly-dominant”, “a fucking nutjob” and (my personal favourite) “nuttier than squirrel shit”.

(I just hope she IMs Stephanie Misfit not realizing she will soon be on the receiving end of a merciless verbal bludgeoning.)

19 Responses to “Curtains Down for Encore Mayne?”

  1. [15:27] EnCore Mayne: let me surmise that the unethically revealed log has completely supressed any prior knowledge you may or may not have had of me or my work

    This coming from the same EnCore Mayne who published an entire chatlog with a close friend of mine, against her wishes. This girl’s a hypocrite, a liar and quite possibly the biggest drama queen of the year.

    She needs an award.

  2. […] Everyone go comment on SCD so she’ll IM you! Wheeee! Curtains Down for Encore Mayne? […]

  3. […] Posted by Ann Launay Everyone go comment on SCD so she’ll IM you! Wheeee! Curtains Down for Encore Mayne? Oooh SL Revolution post! *rubs hands together with glee* Haha I’m mentioned, thanks […]

  4. kristimaurer Says:

    I had a brief conversation with her, and it was pretty tame, but wow, the sarcasm and uppity-bitchness was oozing through my screen. My computer feels dirty now.

    The fact that she belongs to an in-world group called “Crazy Canucks” should have been an indication..I just hope she doesn’t live near me, or I’d be obligated to call the mental health authorities.

  5. Lots of talk about her now, and I regret my own comment on SCD. As Paul McCartney sang with his mates in 1968 or 69 – “let it be”.

  6. I don’t take a word of my comments on SCD or in any blog/forum/whatever but I haven’t had the pleasure of receiving an IM inSL.

    *pouts in the corner*

  7. I have decided to stop hitting her blog anymore, she’s going drunk on power and she is lame. Her blog was never any good to begin with anyway. I will give my money-for-review lindens to someone else. *IMs Ana*

  8. Bellatrix Mai Says:

    I dont get it. Its her SL and her blog. If you dont agree with her methods then dont visit her blog. Sure its weird asking for money to do reviews and i doubt anyone would actually pay, but posting private IM’s and otherwise bash on someone in this way seems to be a little over the top in my opinion…eh what do i know i’m new to the blogging world i just think people should “let it be”…

  9. I almost want to post a reply to it so I can get some of my repressed snark out.

    You can’t be paid by the person being reviewed and expect anyone to take you seriously. Doing that changes it from a review into a classified. Being upfront about it so readers know whats going on instead of the sneaky under the table shit would have been more on the ethical side.

    If people still have their pants in a twist over review copies, how could she not expect that demanding payment on top of review copies would offend a designer sooner or later and let the cat out of the bag? I never read her blog before, but found the post complaining about getting a group gift instead of a specific review copy tarnished her “name” enough by itself.

    Want to be paid for you time blogging? Set up advertising.

  10. Oh Goody... Says:

    Looks like she’s acknowledged you guys: http://maynelinefashion.blogspot.com/2008/12/threat.html

    “i can’t talk for anyone else, but I will, and; with authority! if you want your product associated with this high class stumper, give me a call. please, no spam trash, leave that for the -amateurs- embarrassed.”

  11. Oh look, she’s now decided to attack The SL Revolution:

    “i can’t talk for anyone else, but I will, and; with authority! if you want your product associated with this high class stumper, give me a call. please, no spam trash, leave that for the -amateurs- embarrassed.”

    http://maynelinefashion.blogspot.com/2008/12/threat.html

    This post is really hard to understand, but that seems to be her ‘thang’. It looks like she’s trying to be sarcastic about being open about pricing, where she’s “not a whore” and will be paid. But that pretty much makes her prostitute instead.

    She goes on to state how she is going to “critically analysing the competition”. I don’t see how she can do this, as she clearly cannot work a word processor, let alone examine creators’ works beyond a review. Personally, I imagine their needing to be some math involved with pricing, and that may further need to assistance of a program like Excel. Now, I know Vista is a bitch, but most people are still able to get around Word no matter what platform they have. And if she cannot run her posts through it, I’m worried about her ability to handle more.

    Well, not so much worried as amused by the thought.

  12. And it just keeps going... Says:

    She’s turned her cross-hairs from SCD to here in her “Threat” blog entry. And she doesn’t even directly reference this post- she just calls you amateurs in your ability to review or such. That’s what I was able to make-out of it, anyways.

  13. Really? This is all getting old. She’ll never go away if we keep talking about her and it’s no fun anymore.

    Too many Encores….bored.

  14. And it just keeps going... Says:

    If this keeps rolling, she’s eventually going to attack Free*Style for not knowing anything about quality free stuff in SL.

  15. In Victorian times you had to pay to get into Bedlam to see crazy of EnCore’s magitude, now on the internet you get to see it for free.

  16. Anonymous Says:

    The hits to her page may just be going up. I know I’m going their just to see the trash that spews out of her mind.

  17. Anonymous Says:

    Apologies for the improper ‘their’.

  18. Nara Tairov Says:

    I’ am blown away to discover not only do people do long and drawn out blogs about Second Life… but there is also fashion review, and a “inner circle of the SL famous” bashing and drama. I’m severely curious to know if the application of money and business in the game decided for the SL’ers that takeing any game evolved issues and moving out to converse on internet blog sites like it’s actually real life issues is to blame?
    Now don’t get me wrong, I play SL ALOT, but seriously, RL will go on if some potential 15 yr old with an ability to use a 3D program decides to be a spiteful, and need I say ‘deranged’ lunatic. Matter of fact it honestly doesn’t even affect SL in world as a whole for most gamers I’m sure. For example I hadn’t even heard of her, or this kind of stuff till yesterday while randomly searching the net for pictures.
    Maybe light can be shed? Cause it’s all entirely silly in my point of view.

    (yes I’ know this is horrendously out of date)

Comments are closed.

