Walk of Shame – Bad Blogger, You don’t get to play!

I have to say that I honestly don’t get in world too often these days. I’m more like an outsider that plays on Plurk, watches the feeds & screams “OMG WANT!”, and then mayhaps I log in. Recently, two posts caught my eye, both regarding the new Beats store by Dice Beattie. The first one was written by Efemera Bisiani (never heard of her but everyone’s a fashion blogger these days) called Quick Look: Playtime the second one is by

I have three points that I think I want to make with this post, so try to keep up, kay?

♥ Point One: Wha wha what!?!

Why is this being fluffed reviewed, let alone blogged? This isn’t nearly the quality that it should be by SL standards today. Mayhaps 2 years ago this would have passed for something worthy of one of the only 3 fashion blogs. Today system skirts should be left to those who know how to do it, if it has to be done. I’ve heard that there are a couple more experienced designers (the names escape me) that happen to do it right with the system skirt. However I’m very skeptical.

In SL history, some of you may remmy, system skirts show off your whowho when you sit, bunch weird with AOs and give you the appearance of a major badunkadunk. Remmy your shape called “Skirt Shape” that had your ass set on 0?

♥ Point Two: Honesty in blogging?

Back to the fluff. Was it a slow week in review copies? The blogs said nothing remotely negative about this outfit that they were given review copies of. I am not a designer, but I have years of consumer experience & had I been given the outfit I would of reviewed it the same way as I am now. My thought is that pity does not encourage growth. It seems that everyone wants to dress their avatars up and take pictures to show the world but no one wants to take an honest approach to given items. Just because they’re free doesn’t mean they are good people!

Reviewing fashion, is taking legitimate pieces and tearing apart the good, the bad, the imperfections and the could be betters and giving your honest opinion on it. Especially in a world where new designers pop up over night, it doesn’t do the designers nor your readers any justice to sugar coat a review that isn’t sweet worthy, and what type of creditability are you left with in the end? If you just don’t have it in you to be honest, mayhaps you should rethink blogging or be more selective of what you blog.

♥ Point Three: Color Blind or Trend Setting?

I honestly could not put this outfit on JellyBean (hence the pic of my alt wearing it above – Sorry Nessa). Sometimes I’m sorta vain, yanno. Anyways, I couldn’t honestly critique it without purchasing it, so I did. The trim on the system skirt is not done well at all. Let’s forget the fact that it is a system skirt because if you’ve read this far, you can smell my bias. The belt is hideous, in my opinion and not on a proper attachment point. It goes all funky with your AO like wearing a small hula hoop. Yes, it does come with yellow gloves AND blue leggings! Why? I’m still wondering that myself. Autumn posted Haughty By Nature last week asking designers to “Impress us, shock us, EDUCATE US, just don’t bore us”. I don’t feel this outfit has done any of that, except mayhaps the “shock” part but I’m sure she meant in a good way, not a “WTF” way. Try again. Practice makes perfect and soon people will be begging you for copies. The potential is there, you just gotta tap into it.

This has been an HONEST TO GOODNESS fashion review by your friendly neighborhood JellyBean.

11 Responses to “Walk of Shame – Bad Blogger, You don’t get to play!”

  1. Wilma Delgado Says:

    AMEN! Let’s just say it like it is…the quality sucks..the colors suck..and to be perfectly brutal…the clothing is freaking UGLY

  2. This designer has dropped review copies on at least a couple different people I know, myself included, without an IM or anything. Was not impressed with the work or with the behaviour.

  3. ok. So you tore down a designer AND two bloggers and the your reasoning is…

    1)This isn’t nearly the quality that it should be by SL standards today.
    2)Reviewing fashion, is taking legitimate pieces and tearing apart the good, the bad, the imperfections and the could be betters and giving your honest opinion on it.
    —- ok HONESTLY: blogs are blogs, not fashion reviews. No one is held to ANY standard and your narrow opinion makes me roll my eyes. People are just having fun and I see nothing bad with these “fluff reviews” as you call them. I saw Phires’s and enjoyed the pictures and then scrolled down on the feed. NO HARM DONE, none of my time or money wasted.
    3)“Impress us, shock us, EDUCATE US, just don’t bore us”.

    Sorry. I was gunna tear you a new asshole somehow but i agree with two out of three of your main points. You were just being way too MEAN about it.

    “Try again. Practice makes perfect and soon people will be begging you for copies. The potential is there, you just gotta tap into it.”
    —that’s good advice i general. But had that been a review of MY work I’d feel pretty discouraged to keep going.

    le sigh. It’s a nice saturday morning. And as someone who scrolls the fashion feeds and counts Phire as a friend I believe she doesn’t deserve your rants. Away i go!

  4. I’ve been a blogger for a long time, and I’d like to think I’ve been fairly honest with my opinions, positive or negative.

    @Yuvi – I don’t believe Jellybean actually tore down any bloggers, and she certainly hasn’t said anything that I myself haven’t said about the state of “fashion blogging” in SL. It’s become a farcical joke, which is why I find myself constantly wanting to close my blog. I am tired of seeing people’s “fluff reviews” and vanity blogs, “look at me, look at me – I have a semi-coherent sense of photoshop and a few lindens to buy crap with!” Let me be clear, though: I am not saying that about either of the bloggers Jelly talked about, I am saying this in general about the multitudes of crap available for consumption and regurgitation on the feed these days. It’s why I made my own feed so I wouldn’t have to look at it anymore. But that’s neither here nor there.

    You were going to tear her a new asshole? Please.

    I would rather see an honest opinion about something, anything, rather than yet another ‘this is kitschy and cute” with nary a word about the general quality of said product. You know for damn sure the designer is not going to point out flaws, so that’s where the oh, yeah, BLOGGERS, come in – to write something honest. If you like something despite its inherent flaws, fine, but SAY SO. Why is everyone so afraid of offending the designers? They’re not gods, and if ANYONE should be able to take a bit of constructive criticism, it’s them.

    It makes me roll my eyes that people might buy something based on “this is kitschy and cute” and then HATE whatever it is because the quality sucks.

    P.S. I am not saying any of these comments about this particular dress, because I haven’t seen it – just saying about fashion and “fashion blogging” in general.

    kthxbai.

  5. Chelle Moore Says:

    I completely agree with Jelly, I, too, rarely come in game anymore after practically living my RL in game for over 2 years. I do still browse the various fashion feeds and most times I just sit there shaking my head… where has the quality gone? I haven’t had the urge to buy a thing I’ve seen posted lately.

    Jelly dear, my sincere condolences to your alt, I wouldn’t even put that outfit on my own worst enemy LOL.

    I am neither a designer nor a builder, but frankly I could bang out an outfit very similar to that with my limited PS and building skills.

    For god sakes, WOW us people… (pun intended Jelly), show us that you actually made some effort and put some thought into what you create, design and post on blogs… Ugh. Make me say OMG I HAVE TO HAVE THAT THATS AMAZING!! I swear.. there was a time when that was not a rare occurence… It’s a shame how things have started to slack off…

    *runs to hide back in wow*

  6. You’re right pheonix I should work on my asshole tearing skills before I make idle threats like that. Sorry. What I meant to say is that my initial emotional response was quickly replaced by the realization that Jelly makes points about the designer that I agree with.

    “I am not saying that about either of the bloggers Jelly talked about, I am saying this in general about the multitudes of crap available for consumption and regurgitation on the feed these days.”

    While you didn’t, Pheonix, Jelly did talk about those two bloggers by name and with links, which is what bugged me in the first place. That’s what I mean by “tearing them down”.

    “I’d like to think I’ve been fairly honest with my opinions, positive or negative.”

    I’m sure you would like to believe you’ve been honest, Pheonix. Would you like another blogger to cite one of your posts, which you thought was honest, and group it with what they believed was “fluff” (as Jelly did here)without communicating with you first? Who has the right to say that those who write “multitudes of crap” don’t believe they are being honest when they blog too?

    Just leave other bloggers alone. Critique designers all you want, because as “fashion bloggers” that is your reason to exist. Fine. But when you as a fashion blogger critique other fashion bloggers to me it sounds very petty and self-serving.

  7. ♥JellyBean♥ Says:

    @Yuvi
    I have to ask if Fashion Bloggers exist because of Fashion Designers, then do Fashion Bloggers exist because of readers?

  8. […] It’s a been a gripe for a long time – insipid posts praising and fawning over less than good designs and articulations of designs. […]

  9. […] of the great look – instead it was all related to a seperate blog post by JellyBean Madison “Walk of Shame – Bad Blogger, You don’t get to play!“, a point by point editorial. In it she criticizes the designer’s ability, questions […]

  10. Charlotte Says:

    I hope you know, after reading this offensive review the designer quit second life. Not only are you ruining the growth of his design skills, you should be more constructive with your criticism. I don’t personally know him, but I purchased a good quality shirt from his other brand a long time ago which I still wear. I agree this collection was obviously unworthy of a good review, trust me he deserved some criticism, but you’re not being helpful by insulting him like this. Truth is I would never buy anything like that dress if it were made by one of second lifes most talented designers, I see you try to make something better and then I’ll give you an “Honest to Goodness” review. Over and out.

  11. ♥JellyBean♥ Says:

    It’s been 10 months since I wrote this Charlotte and this is the first I’ve heard of the designers alleged departure from SL. The fact is that my major annoyance & beef was with the other fashion bloggers as much or more than the designer himself because honestly I was reacting to the fact that I saw that outfit multiple times (as I mentioned in the first paragraph) with zero critique of it. This was even BEFORE the Rainbow Poop movement. I believe that pushed me to be a little more over the top.

    You yourself say that you wouldn’t have purchased the outfit and that the designer “deserved some criticism”. Well I’m not known to be full of tact and/or grace. It is what it is. As for me trying “to make something better” and then you’ll give me an “Honest to Goodness” review – well, I never claimed to be a designer, only a consumer. I’m pretty damn honest with myself & I know I don’t have one designing bone in my body outside of the webdesign work I do in RL, so I wouldn’t set myself up to fail in such a manner. But I thank you for your support.

Comments are closed.

