The SL® “Modeling School” Scam

I see it all the time: a girl who is desperate to become a model and her profile is chock-full of information on how to hire her. She’s in every model-wannabe group she can find and has room to display, though she’s not a member of any real agencies, but of course there are so many now it’s hard to figure out which ones are real and which ones are fakes. She has possibly done a couple of minor jobs, mostly for friends or friends of friends, but she is still not as successful as she feels she should be. So what does she do?

She’s already spent thousands on her shape, skin, hair, clothes, accessories and poses. But so far it hasn’t made much of a difference, because everyone else in her position has too. So perhaps it’s time to take a look at the “big-name” modeling schools and invest 6-10K on a modeling course? After all, if they are asking for so much money, it must be worth it, right?

Wrong. I have worked for two different modeling agencies, including the one I now co-own with my partner, and I have never once asked, or thought it necessary to ask, a model if they went to school and studied to become a model. Because it makes no difference. If I am interested in someone, I can teach them what they need to know in 30 minutes, and the rest is stuff that is picked up over time and refined with practice.

School is not necessary to learn how to stand, walk, pose, use a HUD, learn tricks to reduce lag, learn how to create outfit folders, etc.  It’s a ridiculous waste of money to pay for this, and the “schools” that are doing so are only doing it because there is no money in putting on shows.  They are only looking to make a profit, which in and of itself is not a bad thing, *if* they were offering a truly legitimate service.

And don’t even get me started on those schools who harass designers for gifts and sponsorship for their “graduation ceremonies”.  That’s an entirely different rant.

8 Responses to “The SL® “Modeling School” Scam”

  1. There must be many people in SL who are desperate to get some attention… and unfortunately others try to make their profit of that.

  2. Gahum Riptide Says:

    Interesting viewpoint. As I am not a model, but someone on the side who attends shows and knows a few models, I always wondered why one would need to go to school to learn how to model in SL. From what I understand a lot of doing well on an SL runway has to do more with timing and knowing where to stop and dealing with lag.

    Here’s a question for you. How would a modeling school that is for profit be legitimate?

  3. Gahum, I don’t believe modeling in SL requires any formal training whatsoever, so no school is legitimate in my eyes.

  4. *applauds wildly, whistling, throwing M&Ms in appreciation*

    :o)

  5. ♥JellyBean♥ Says:

    It was just a matter of time before Aly said something LOL *catches M&Ms on her tongue*

  6. LOL aww, I can’t be that predictable, can I?

    Gotta keep the masses guessing somehow!! :op

  7. I am so glad I discovered this blog

    Very interesting topic and one I will have to mull over very hard.

    I’m cinfused about one thing here. Who is the author/authoress of

    The SL® “Modeling School” Scam?

    Phoenix? Phoenix who? I’d like to chat in-world with you.

    Thanks again

    Nave

  8. Navefall it was Phoenix Chapman. She was on hiatus for a while in SL, but I think she has been coming back around lately, so feel free to look her up. 🙂

Comments are closed.

