The Pradolution

That title sounded better in my head.. now I’ve read it back, it just looks like the name of a really bad cologne. Or a cheesy summer dance.

Anyways, Hi there! Many of you probably have no idea who I am, so allow me to introduce myself. I’m the one your parents warned you about, but you may call me Prad. I have a little known blog already, and now I’m the newest addition to the SL Revolutionaries and I hope to be able to entertain, make you think and even infuriate you!

I’m a brutally honest blogger – I’ve successfully pissed off freebie hunters, magazine editors and anybody who’s ever owned a freenis. But I’ll tell you what I think, and I don’t expect you to always agree with me.  If you ever feel the need to leave a burning bag of dog faeces on my doorstep, then the link is in my profile in world.

I was stuck on one of the seats at the back of an internal flight from Glasgow to London. The flight was delayed by a couple of hours, and I would have 15 minutes to get to the gate to catch my next plane to Berlin. I couldn’t afford to miss that plane because of arrangements the following day, and I knew that the 200 other passengers in front of me would take forever and a day to disembark. Some muppet bought a crying kid on board – that’s a 20 minute job in itself!

So I alerted the air steward to my predicament and she assured me that she’d use the tannoy to make sure people would make way for me so I could get off the plane and get to my next one.

Naturally, she forgot.

So I was stuck at the back of the plane watching as everyone was reaching up to the overhead holds and getting their hand luggage as the plane taxied to the terminal.

As soon as people started to stand, I knew it was decision time.. ask yourself what you’d do?

*Loud whistle*

“LADIES AND GENTLEMAN – MY FLIGHT TO BERLIN IS ABOUT TO DEPART IN 15 MINUTES AND I WOULD GREATLY APPRECIATE IT IF YOU COULD ALLOW ME TO PASS THROUGH THE PLANE! THANK YOU!”

Yes, I got a few dirty looks.

Quite frankly, I didn’t care. Stand up, Speak up or get Shut Down.

If we all play nicey-nicey, then we live in a world where nothing gets questioned, and nothing changes. Yes, people will get pissed off that you dare to question the “norm”.. but, in all honesty, I’ve received countless messages from people saying they agree. The voice that dares to be different and stand out is the voice which people will listen to – be it to applaud or to knock it down.

Personally, I think we all need to learn to buck up a bit and say what we’re thinking more. Second Life is pretty much an anonymous platform – I’ve made no secret of my disdain for people who feel they have to be anonymous on SL blogs. What the hell is wrong with you?!

Don’t be afraid to be a voice. If you have an opinion, don’t be scared to share it. It’s the people who dare to be different who reap the rewards.

=Prad=

11 Responses to “The Pradolution”

  1. The great Revolution just got EVEN better! Great to see you here, Praddie <333

  2. TeenaBasevi Says:

    Hurrah! I did the same for my inlaws on a flight.. people were overall quite nice. But since when is yer blog “little known” ? hehe welcome :)

  3. Well, if that’s your definition of not being nicey-nice, you must be a sweetie. Far worse would be to say nothing and attempt to crawl over , under and between them and then to run down the corridors knocking people sprawling and slamming unsuspecting travelers with your luggage as it flails while you leap over stiles.

  4. ♥JellyBean♥ Says:

    Huzzah! So glad to have you here. Oh but you forgot…

    “It’s the people who dare to be different who reap the rewards.”

    and the most criticism. Hah

    True Story!

    Welcome aboard, again :)

  5. “What the hell is wrong with you?!”

    Anxiety, depression and potentially other psychological challenges.

    I post anonymously in some places because I have problems coping with conflict; the most mundane thing to the average person can put my stomach in knots and and make me physically unable to do anything. I am not capable of letting other people’s opinions of me just roll off.

    Yes, this can make my life pretty shitty, and I’ve been in situations where I’ve been the doormat to Hell in real life. I do not enjoy the way I handle or react to negativity, and I wish I could be more forward like you or some other people. I’m working on it, and I try not to make it an “excuse” for things, but right now I can only do so much.

    So, there’s the ‘forward’ answer to your (most likely) rhetorical question.

  6. Gweneth Lange Says:

    Back in 2001, a cab ride to Heathrow airport took longer than we calculated, and was at the ticket counter checking in waaaay to late. Our flight was leaving in 15 mins and we had to run with our luggage (14 days worth of dirty laundry) in our hand since there wouldnt be time to check it in. We managed to find 2 luggage carts and began to run for it. Our inability to take another flight made us run faster than we thought possible.

    We were doing alright, twisting and weaving, bobbing and dodging people who seemed to materialized mysteriously out of nowhere. That is, until we saw our gate in the distance, beyond a bottle neck of people who had the nerve to arrive early to the air port and now could stand around, blocking the ONLY doorway while they chatted amoungst themselves. “ehem… ‘scuse me..” Nothing. “eHem..’scuse me” Nothing. “GET OUT OF THE WAY NOW” omg It worked! Of course I was called a very ‘rude American’ but damnit, I DID say excuse me twice and was too late to even care.

    Normally Im extremely polite, moreso inworld since its difficult sometimes to express myself in typing. The written word loses so much when it comes to tone and facial expression (unless of course youre a word smith, which Im not), and I, for one, lack.

    But I will say this, I do find theres a difference between speaking up, speaking ones mind, being honest, and just plain not caring about another person and labling it ‘being brutally honest’. Theres a difference between being assertive and being agressive and an even bigger difference with being an asshole!

    Time and place for everything and the Golden Rule gets you pretty far. Thats my $0.02L worth (winks)

  7. It’s great to have you on The Rev! I love your writing style and this is a great post. I’ll have to try that on a plane sometime.

  8. Welcome to the mix!

  9. /me wonders who let him in

  10. “If we all play nicey-nicey, then we live in a world where nothing gets questioned, and nothing changes. Yes, people will get pissed off that you dare to question the “norm”.. but, in all honesty, I’ve received countless messages from people saying they agree. The voice that dares to be different and stand out is the voice which people will listen to – be it to applaud or to knock it down.”

    This is very true. You must have the courage to stand up for what you believe in. There’s an old saying:

    “The reasonable person conforms to the norms of society, the unreasonable person expects society to conform to them… therefore all progress is made by unreasonable people.”

    Be different, be fearless, be bold, don’t back down, stand up for what you believe and be respectful of others.

    Anony Mouse

  11. /me nods in agreement with Ana

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 533 other followers

